My 19th Birthday in Charters Towers, QLD, Australia

I usually write about my travels and experiences in the various places I’ve been to, but I had such a great day for my birthday I wanted to really remember it.

If I hadn’t been working, I would have woken up with a drink in my hand prepping myself for the day. But seeing as I was working, I had to stick to the Oj. None the less, I went downstairs ready to start work to find 2 surprise card deliveries from back home. You might wonder why it was a surprise… I mean it was my birthday, shouldn’t I be “expecting” a card? Well I am half the world away, and told my family back home that they shouldn’t bother sending me anything (not even a card). But I was so happy when I saw that they had gone through the effort of sending me something. And, as they always do, they found two very appropriate cards summing up my new life in Australia: Sunshine, and Alcohol. 

IMG_7992

Then at exactly 12:30pm, a rather tall man waltzed into the pub holding a beautiful white iced cake decorated with a fresh crown of roses. I was so excited that someone had organised a cake for me! I instantly turned to my friends at the pub with a huge “you didn’t have to do that” face. But when I opened the card attached it read “from Mum, Jaxx, Gran, and Grandad.” I was so shocked and overwhelmed that my family had gone so out of their way to find a cake shop in Charters Towers to make my favourite, Red Velvet. All whilst not setting a foot on Australian soil! I’m not going to lie or even try to deny it, I was getting incredibly emotional and started to tear up. I can’t believe I was just about greeting’ over a cake!

IMG_7858IMG_7857IMG_7863

Only 1 hour later I was welling up again. Surprises get me EVERY TIME! This time it was in the form of an incredibly generous and thoughtful gift from one of the locals. He gave me a gift bag filled with my favourite things, which he’d picked up on over the past few weeks. Magners Cider is my drink of choice when I go out to the pub back in Scotland. But I have found it a real challenge finding it in the smaller towns in Australia. It’s so much easier to get in the bigger cities, like Brisbane or Townsville. So I was buzzing to knock off work to enjoy a Magners on my 19th Birthday, then get the night started with my drink of choice out here: Red Rum. Then I was sorted for my hangover fix the next day with tea bags from one of my favourite places (The Daintree Rainforest) and a heck of a load of Tim Tams.

IMG_7941

IMG_7870

There was no other choice for the night but to wear my flower crown with pride and hit the town for a Thirsty Thursday. It was just a casual pub night, but that doesn’t mean it wasn’t crazy. Polar Bear shots, Jam Donut Shots and red rum and coke’s all bought for me by strangers in the bar, and the owners. I think I’m gonna wear a birthday badge on every night out.. worth a shot. (Pun Intended).

2 thoughts on “My 19th Birthday in Charters Towers, QLD, Australia

  1. WELL WELL HEN— YOU SURE HAVE HAD ( and are having ) A FAB EXPERIENCE AND MAKING A LOT OF FRIENDS!!!!!! A REEL WEE FAMILY IN OZ!!!!! LOOK FORWARD TAE YER NEXT STORY!! XXX

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

